Sonnymoon – “Blast Off”/Big K.R.I.T. – “My Interpretation

I am beyond happy to bring you the first two leaks from the forthcoming Summer Sampler, which is presented by Potholes In My Blog and Prefix. When I began writing there last year, I couldn’t help but think of a way to have these two sites join forces on a project. A few months passed and as I began to build my reputation over there I pitched the idea to Dave (of Potholes) and Dave (of Prefix). Both were 100 percent into the idea and the Summer Sampler began to take shape.

This project could not have come together without the assistance of a number of people. First and foremost, I have to thank the Potholes crew, especially Dave, Gedi, and Zach for all their help on this. Also, a huge thank you to all the public relations folks, such as Dan Friedman, Jonny Shipes, and Jon Kim. Without you guys, I don’t know how we would have gotten most of these amazing songs, from Hezekiah to Big K.R.I.T. to Von Pea. The biggest thank you (of course) goes out to each and every artist on here. You are why we started this damn site in the first place. And, of course, a gigantic thank you to Theodore, who made the absolutely gorgeous artwork for this project.

Now that we have all the mushy stuff out of the way, let’s get down to the details. The Summer Sampler — I know, there’s only like a month of summer left, I get it — boasts 24 brand new, never-before-heard tracks. Here we have a double-single to get you in tune with what the compilation is all about.

First is Sonnymoon’s “Blast Off”, which kicks off the sampler, and takes you onto a hip-hop-laced journey into space while the other boasts an inspirational, soulful cut from none other than Big K.R.I.T. called “My Interpretation”. You can stream the tracks below and download them after the jump, where you can also find the track list. The full Summer Sampler drops next Tuesday, Aug. 24.

[audio:|titles=Blast Off]

[audio:|titles=My Interpretation]

Download: Sonnymoon – “Blast Off” [Right Click Save-As]

Download: Big K.R.I.T. – “My Interpretation” [Right Click Save-As]

Summer Sampler Track List

Disc 1
1. Sonnymoon – “Blast Off”
2. DaVinci – “Mash On Em” (prod. J-Thrill)
3. Theo Martins – “Another Sky” (prod. Brey Quick)
4. Co$$ – “Break It Down” (prod. Fonetik)
5. YC The Cynic – “The War House” (prod. Spills)
6. Hezekiah – “Cornbread” f. D.R.E.S tha Beatnik (prod. Street Orchestra & Steve McKie)
7. Max Fischer – “Come Real” f. Conchance (prod. by Inf)
8. WrittenHouse – “Melodi”
9. Intuition – “Dear John” (prod. Equalibrum)
10. Buff1 – “Winner Is” (prod. Dae One)
11. The Niceguys – “Die Later”
12. Stalley – “Put Some Good In” (prod. Thoughts for Food)

Disc 2
1. Leadsmen – “Abyssal Plain”
2. Big K.R.I.T. – “My Interpretation”
3. Metermaids – “Show Your Teeth”
4. Jon Hope – “Voices” (prod. Quest)
5. Ghostpoet & Rox – “To Something” (Unofficial) (prod. Four Tet)
6. Cymarshall Law – “Top That” (prod. DJ Absurd)
7. Danny Brown – “Trunk” (prod. Doe Pesci)
8. Moe Green – “Masterpiece”
9. Slum Village – “EZ Up” (Lushlife Sinfonia Remix)
10. Von Pea – “Boombox” (prod. Aeon)
11. Smoke DZA – “Riiiiiiight” (prod. Jonny Shipes & Bangout)
12. Datahowler – “Atom Blues”

11 thoughts on “Sonnymoon – “Blast Off”/Big K.R.I.T. – “My Interpretation

Leave A Reply
  1. sonnymoon joint is mega-dope

  2. That Big KRIT joint went str8 to iPod but can’t say the same for other track. Oh well its a compilation so that’s kinda expected. Some suggestion – I would like to know the producer(s) behind every song on project.

  3. Nice place and nice music, thank you. Like both tracks a lot and also nice artwork. Congrats on the compilation, looks great.

  4. This looks dope and the artwork is FRESH! Congrats on putting it together. I’ll be on the look out.

  5. Damn, that Big KRIT track is album-worthy. Bananamal.

  6. Great collab!! and I love both big k.r.i.t. and sonnymoon so I’m happily posting this. take care

Leave your reply