Potholes Podcast (May 2011)

Potholes Podcast (May 2011)

Just as May and all of its showers roll out, we are met with June and all of its glorious weather and good vibes. I tried to emulate that mood in the latest Potholes Podcast, kicking things off with some somber tones from the late Gil Scott-Heron, and then mixing in some upbeat fun from Mayer Hawthorne and the like. Clocking in at just over an hour, this is an ideal mix for any of you struggling with the hump day blues. I know I’m not the only one staring out the window, wishing I was out there instead of in this retched office. The mix is eclectic, as always, featuring appearances from TOKiMONSTA, Michael Kiwanuka, Bon Iver, Blu and many more.

Stream the mix or download it after the skip! Artwork by Theodore.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download: Potholes Podcast (May 2011) [Right Click Save-As]

Track Listing:
01 Gil Scott-Heron – “I’m New Here”
02 Bon Iver – “Calgary”
03 Blu – “7 4 U”
04 Serengeti – “Ha-Ha”
05 Hail Mary Mallon – “Smock”
06 Maybach Music Group – “Self Made”
07 Shabazz Palaces – “Swerve… The reeping of all that is worthwhile (Noir not withstanding)”
08 TOKiMONSTA – “Day Job”
09 Chad Valley – “Now That I’m Real”
10 Blueprint – “Automatic”
11 Michael Kiwanuka – “Tell Me A Tale”
12 Mayer Hawthorne – “A Long Time”
13 L.A.U.S.D. – “Ignite” feat. U-N-I
14 Danny Swain – “Theme Music To A Killing Spree” feat. Danny Brown
15 Oddisee – “You Don’t Close Your Eyes”
16 Samiyam – “Cushion”
17 Drake – “Dreams Money Can Buy”
18 Imani – “L.A. Blazers” feat. Luckyiam & Blu
19 Danny Brown – “Outer Space”
20 Thundercat – “For Love I Come”


  1. ARHG
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 21:56:00

    why drake?

  2. Michel Karl Dupré O.
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:00:00

    Thanks man!. perfect for this afternoon’s work.

  3. David Reyneke
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 00:46:00

    thanks playboy!

  4. marc (mostlyjunkfood.com)
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 23:34:00

    super heady mix david, from beginning to end. good song choices

Leave a Reply