Potholes Podcast (Justin Peroff)

potholes podcast justin peroff Potholes Podcast (Justin Peroff)Earlier this year, we were lucky enough to get hit up by a member of one of our favorite bands who also happens to have a killer solo career in his own right. It’s Justin Peroff, who you probably know as the drummer for Toronto indie gods Broken Social Scene. When he’s not playing with them, he’s recording music as part of Eight And A Half and piecing together instrumentals under his producer alias, Junior Pande.

And it’s as Junior Pande that Peroff has demonstrated a clear love for forward-thinking, otherworldly instrumental music. He’s also putting that on full display on his exclusive mix made for our Potholes Podcast series. The nearly one-hour mix features a slew of crunchy boom-bap, intergalactic bangers, and even a few joints featuring MCs like blunted up-and-comer Chester Watson. We also have to give Peroff tons of love for including one of our very own, vhvl, on here.

You can stream the mix and view the track listing below. Enjoy. Thank you, as always, to Theodore Taylor III for the artwork.

Track listing:

  1. Oneohtrix Point Never – Lovergirls
  2. 3LLL – Levitate
  3. VHVL – mndae
  4. Sup∆ 83 – Year 3000 (unreleased)
  5. Kaelin Ellis – Flute Song
  6. Chester Watson – Origama (produced by Art Vandelay)
  7. Lapalux – Deforestation (snippet)
  8. Zouk Fuck – Pocahauntas
  9. Sunclef – 2009 (unreleased)
  10. Option Command – Polybell Stratedy
  11. Truman Peyote – Magentadoor II
  12. okadada – Secret Door
  13. Stwo – You (ft. Sanna Heartfield)
  14. Elaquent – Paris at Night
  15. Pristine Maze – Noyce // Always
  16. Oscar Key Sung – It’s Coming
  17. Mike Gao – Ausgangsta (Ta-ku Remix)
  18. VLooper – V Chebang
  19. Alaclaire Ensemble – POU LÉ ENFANT
  20. Miguel – Adorn (TOKiMONSTA remix)
  21. allie – Cross My Mind
  22. Mister Barrington – Only a Fool (Mike Slott Remix)
  23. ASAP Mob – Thuggin’ Noise (Ryan Hemsworth remix)
  24. Byron and Onra – Blush (feat Isis)
  25. mndsgn + Justin Peroff – untitled – Engineered by Jonwayne (unreleased)