D’Angelo Details New Album ‘Black Messiah’, Being Released Tonight

D’Angelo Details New Album ‘Black Messiah’, Being Released Tonight

dangelo hatFollowing the surprise announcement, release of his new song “Sugah Daddy”, more information about D’Angelo’s Black Messiah album are coming to light thanks to the listening session he held earlier today. It’s still crazy to think that this is his first new album in 14 years. During the listening session sponsored by Red Bull Music Academy and Afropunk, lyric pamphlets were handed out to attendees. Along with the revelation that Q-Tip, Questlove, bassist Pino Palladino, drummer James Gadson and Funkadelic’s Kendra Foster made contributions. Q-Tip actually announced earlier on twitter that he co-wrote “Sugah Baby”. D’Angelo also explained the background behind the album title of Black Messiah.

BMWe’ve also learned thanks to FADER, the official first single is “Really Love”, and it will be added to radio on Monday. I had a feeling that would be the case. “Sugah Daddy” while great didn’t feel like an official first single, but definitely a good album cut. D’Angelo’s Black Messiah album will be on sale at midnight tonight on iTunes. The wait is over!

D’Angelo – Black Messiah (Track-listing):

01 Ain’t That Easy
02 1000 Deaths
03 The Charade
04 Sugah Daddy
05 Really Love
06 Back in the Future (Part I)
07 Till It’s Done (Tutu)
08 Prayer
09 Betray My Heart
10 The Door
11 Back in the Future (Part II)
12 Another Life

Leave a Reply